The medieval village of Saint Emilion, surrounded by prestigious vineyards, counts about 1,900 inhabitants. In the 8th century, monk Emilion originally from Britanny, settled a hermitage carved into the rock in the middle of the Combes forest that used to cover the area.
  • The Monolithic Church: carved from limestones, the church is the second highest monolithic church in the world. The building is listed historical building since 1883. The bell tower, open to the public is 68m high.
  • The King's Tower built in 1237 on Henri III (King of England & Duke of Aquitaine)'s request. This dungeon is the only Roman style building in Gironde. Open to visitors, the roof top offers incredible views over the village and its vineyards.
  • The Hermitage located underneath the Trinity Chapel, this is the original hermitage carved by monk Emilion.
  • Wander around Saint Emilion: there are a number of walks and bicycle tours available to discover the area. Maps are available from the Visitor Information Centre website.
  • Great Saint-Emilion area Visitor Information Centre: